EN | FR | ES | AR

To facilitate the development of the Abidjan Principles, a drafting committee of 9 individuals has been meeting since June 2018. This group has led the drafting process, building on the comments from the consultations, in coordination with other experts.

These experts act in their individual capacity as members of the drafting group facilitating the elaboration of the Abidjan Principles. The institutions listed with the names of the authors are for the purpose of identification rather than endorsement of the commentary given by these institutions.

The Drafting Committee members are:


Professor Ann Skelton

Chair of the Draft Committee (South Africa) UNESCO Chair for Education Law in Africa; Director, Centre for Child Law at the University of Pretoria; Member UN, Committee on the Rights of the Child.


Professor Aoife Nolan

Member of the Drafting Committee (Ireland), Professor of International Human Rights Law, University of Nottingham; Member, Council of Europe European Committee of Social Rights.


Dr Jacqueline Mowbray

Member of the Drafting Committee (Australia), · Associate Professor, University of Sydney Law School; external legal adviser, Australian Parliament's Joint Committee on Human Rights.


Jayna Kothari

Member of the Drafting Committee (India), independent; Co-founder and Executive Director, Centre for Law and Policy Research; Counsel, Karnataka High Court & Supreme Court of India).


Dr Magdalena Sepúlveda Carmona

Member of the Drafting Committee (Chile), · independent; former UN Special Rapporteur on Extreme Poverty; Member of the Independent Commission for the Reform of International Corporate Taxation.


Dr Maria Smirnova

Member of the Drafting Committee (Russia), independent; Honorary Research Fellow, Manchester International Law Centre, University of Manchester.


Roman Zinigrad

Member of the Drafting Committee, (Israel), J.S.D. candidate, Yale Law School; Visiting Fellow, Sciences Po Law School.


Professor Sandra Fredman

Member of the Drafting Committee (South Africa), Professor of the Laws of the British Commonwealth and the USA, University of Oxford; Director, Oxford Human Rights Hub; Honorary Queen's Counsel.


Sandra Epal Ratjen

Member of the Drafting Committee (France), independent; International Advocacy Director, Franciscans International.